Inaugural Fishing Derby a Big Hit!

Thank You to our Sponsors

View Event Photos…

For Immediate Release: May 16, 2017 – Easton, MA

On Saturday morning, May 13, 2017, the Easton Lions were blessed with the perfect morning for a fishing derby at the old Governor Ames Estate Shovel Shop Pond. The Winds were calm, had a slight mist in the air, and lots of good friends and neighbors to enjoy the day.

Many Lions showed up early to set-up and be ready for the 8am start and others followed as the morning warmed up (ever so slightly).  Right off the bat, the fish were really biting. Jake pulled in a Bass on his first cast out.  A little bit of everything was caught. This was a catch-and-release event, so the fish are back in for another day.

We had kids ranging from age 4 to 11, and their parents and friends were in for a fun morning. The kids caught Bass, Crappy (a.k.a. Calico Bass), Bluegill (a.k.a. Sunfish), and Pickerel. Jack age 11 won the fishing tackle box for longest fish, a 12.5” Bass, his second fish of the day. Lana and Hannah ages 4 and 6 won the prize for most fish caught. All kids received participation hats and gifts from Bass Pro Shops, our main sponsor for the event. Many kudos goes out to them!!

They provided 12 fishing poles, reels and tackle for folks to use. Everyone enjoyed the free food provided by the Easton Lions including Dunkin Munchkins, water, soda, chips donated by Frito Lay and hot dogs cooked up by Lion Ray Morrell on the grill. Thank you Lions Ed Hands and Henry Narsasian for spearheading the event and for all the kids, families, friends, and Lions for a great morning for our inaugural Fishing Derby!!

Participants included:

  • Ryan Duffy – 8yr
  • Jack Paul – 11yr
  • Ben Paul 7-yr
  • Matthew Poliseno – 7yr
  • Lana Killion – 4yr
  • Hannah Killion – 6yr
  • Ben Delavega – 7yr
  • David Amata – 5yr
  • Tommy Whalen – 6yr
  • Finnegan Murphy = 4yr
  • Fiona Murphy – 4yr
  • Lilly Goodwin – 7yr
  • Tre Presutti – 9 yr

Thanks you to all the Lions who helped:

  • Ed Hands
  • Henry Narsasian
  • Ray Morell
  • Henry Mehler
  • Jim Howarth
  • Jeanne Ebert
  • Ed Pires
  • Frank Paul
  • Charlie Hammond
  • Pattie Somers (1st VP)
  • Matthew Cioffi (President)